Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Solar system gravity  (Read 4724 times)

terzer

Solar system gravity
« on: December 04, 2010, 04:45:10 PM »
Hello,
yesterday l found this program, its amazing! Just wonderful!
I started playing and l noticed few things:
When l try to create a solar system (just add one sun and add rings with 100000 particles in 10-20 AU, simulating accretion disc), the rings just expand outwards forever, there are no planets forming. l checked the collision mode, also lagrange points, accuracy mode, hill spheres... l waited several million years, the solar system is now 5ly wide (only rings). Its not realistic if the standard theory for solar system formation is true. The colliding particles should create bigger/heavier bodies, which eventually will form asteroids, then planets and should "clear" the sol. system.
I also noticed this, when l try to merge (collide) galaxies. After millions/billions of years, there is no single galaxy, the particles are expanding outwards...  
Is there a dark matter and dark energy simulation, or the software physics are just based on Newtonian physics?
l'm l missing something?
Thanks!

Naru523

• Universe Sandbox 1 Beta Team
  • let's walk the true path of life
Re: Solar system gravity
« Reply #1 on: December 04, 2010, 04:59:06 PM »
Dust doesn't collide. You'll have to add lots of asteroids, but it'll slow down your computer.
For galaxy collision: Galaxies do not collide (black holes) yet for now, however Dan Dixon says he will make it collide in the near future.

Currently there's no dark matter or energy physics/simulations in this. It's only base on Newtonian physics.

terzer

« Reply #2 on: December 04, 2010, 05:11:25 PM »
Thanks!
The dust should collide. Its still matter, it cannot escape gravity.
Wonderful software!

edit: l believe l have found the problem: