Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Mult-CPU support?  (Read 14756 times)

XeonPower

Mult-CPU support?
« on: May 04, 2011, 02:26:55 AM »
I see the "Multiple Processor Support" checkbox in the settings menu, but when I check it nothing happens. I am watching Task Manager and the program still only uses one thread. I am running the program on a six-core Core i7 processor and just wanted to know if I am doing something wrong since this would no doubt increase performance many times over. Also, I am running the Steam version if that matters.

Thank you.

P.S.
Absolutely awesome program!! I am no astrophysics expert, just a biology grad and I can't tear myself away from it! I love it!

Carnage2K4

• Faith Kicker
Re: Mult-CPU support?
« Reply #1 on: May 04, 2011, 02:45:51 AM »
going by some tests I did on my quad, it merely spreads out the process over the extra cores but will still only utilise the max process a single core can do.

for example on a single running at max, it will take up 100% of that core, but only 25% overall on a quad (or 16.6% on a hex).
if it's spread over all the cores it will still only utilise 25% (16.6% hex) overall but only use between 1-50% on any 1 of the cores at a time.
so the cores could be running at 4%, 15%, 3%, 3% for a total of 25%.

so as far as I see there is no benefit for the option.
« Last Edit: May 04, 2011, 04:33:09 AM by Carnage2K4 »

Joshimitsu91

• Hit me up on Steam: "Joshimitsu91"
« Reply #2 on: May 04, 2011, 07:44:28 AM »
Dan Dixon has stated somewhere that the option is still in development and isn't very useful at the moment, so i don't bother with it (for now anyway).

Zaggeh

« Reply #3 on: May 04, 2011, 07:51:09 AM »
"Warning - while you were typing a new reply has been posted.  You may wish to review your post."

Dan Dixon has stated somewhere that the option is still in development and isn't very useful at the moment, so i don't bother with it (for now anyway).