Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Simcity 4  (Read 112026 times)

Bla

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 1012
  • The stars died so you can live.
Re: Simcity 4
« Reply #30 on: June 28, 2009, 01:23:23 AM »
Have you tried EA Support? You can e-mail them... I think there is a link on the top of the forums.

hbmp88

  • *****
  • Posts: 344
  • Please visit to help! http://ucallyptis.myminicity
Re: Simcity 4
« Reply #31 on: June 28, 2009, 07:03:01 PM »
You know I think I'll just find a day to return the game and get another CD because it seems that all the data is there and the pre-game video runs flawlessly.

hbmp88

  • *****
  • Posts: 344
  • Please visit to help! http://ucallyptis.myminicity
Re: Simcity 4
« Reply #32 on: July 11, 2009, 10:22:44 PM »
Is there a way I can upload my Simcity4 city? It includes rush hour too. But it's just over 3 MB. :(

hbmp88

  • *****
  • Posts: 344
  • Please visit to help! http://ucallyptis.myminicity
Re: Simcity 4
« Reply #33 on: July 14, 2009, 02:39:08 PM »
Come on I really want to share my city! >:( Why can't I just upload it  :(

monmarfori

  • Universe Sandbox 1 Beta Team
  • *****
  • Posts: 788
Re: Simcity 4
« Reply #34 on: July 14, 2009, 09:21:06 PM »
A glitch is found when you press the Windows button (on your left part on your keyboard near the space bar) then if you click the simcity 4 icon on your taskbar. then some objects would look like squares.

hbmp88

  • *****
  • Posts: 344
  • Please visit to help! http://ucallyptis.myminicity
Re: Simcity 4
« Reply #35 on: July 15, 2009, 12:10:33 PM »
Not all keyboards are the same, and by the way that was a really random comment to what I wrote above. Can you try to be more reasonable on where you post? We can't read your mind so try to be more clear. I really don't know why I'd care if you found a glitch on your computer. All I asked for is an alternative way to post my city since it is over 2050 KB.

monmarfori

  • Universe Sandbox 1 Beta Team
  • *****
  • Posts: 788
Re: Simcity 4
« Reply #36 on: July 15, 2009, 02:59:44 PM »
But dan dixon must have maximum attachment size allowed like 8192 kb. or 16384 kb.

atomic7732

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3817
  • caught in the river turning blue
    • Paladin of Storms
Re: Simcity 4
« Reply #37 on: July 15, 2009, 03:20:26 PM »
But dan dixon must have maximum attachment size allowed like 8192 kb. or 16384 kb.
Yeah, he does. 2050 kb!


It says if you click Additional Options...
   
 Notify me of replies.   
 Return to this topic.   
 Don't use smileys.   
Attach:    (more attachments)
Maximum attachment size allowed: 2050 KB, per post: 4

hbmp88

  • *****
  • Posts: 344
  • Please visit to help! http://ucallyptis.myminicity
Re: Simcity 4
« Reply #38 on: July 15, 2009, 06:04:01 PM »
And that's exactly what I was talking about. I clearly stated that the maximum was 2050 KB and monmarf replied:

Quote
But dan dixon must have maximum attachment size allowed like 8192 kb. or 16384 kb.


I guess I'll never b3e able to share my city...  :(

Dan Dixon

  • Creator of Universe Sandbox
  • Developer
  • *****
  • Posts: 3243
    • Personal Site
Re: Simcity 4
« Reply #39 on: July 15, 2009, 06:30:33 PM »
I'll be switching web site hosts in the next few weeks. This will let me increase the maximum allowed file size as I'm close to running out of room at the moment.

atomic7732

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3817
  • caught in the river turning blue
    • Paladin of Storms
Re: Simcity 4
« Reply #40 on: July 15, 2009, 07:47:49 PM »
Does that mean that these posts will go away? It would seem like. NO!!!!!!!!!  :'(

monmarfori

  • Universe Sandbox 1 Beta Team
  • *****
  • Posts: 788
Re: Simcity 4
« Reply #41 on: July 15, 2009, 08:28:41 PM »
Sometimes SimCity 4 may hang if you have large cities :(

Dan Dixon

  • Creator of Universe Sandbox
  • Developer
  • *****
  • Posts: 3243
    • Personal Site
Re: Simcity 4
« Reply #42 on: July 16, 2009, 10:56:54 AM »
Does that mean that these posts will go away? It would seem like. NO!!!!!!!!!  :'(

No worries... I will also be moving the forum and all messages. Unless you're really paying attention you won't even notice the switch.

hbmp88

  • *****
  • Posts: 344
  • Please visit to help! http://ucallyptis.myminicity
Re: Simcity 4
« Reply #43 on: July 16, 2009, 12:47:42 PM »
Will it be a different website?

monmarfori

  • Universe Sandbox 1 Beta Team
  • *****
  • Posts: 788
Re: Simcity 4
« Reply #44 on: July 16, 2009, 02:53:52 PM »
But what happens to the city if an asteroid will collide with Earth?

hbmp88

  • *****
  • Posts: 344
  • Please visit to help! http://ucallyptis.myminicity
Re: Simcity 4
« Reply #45 on: July 16, 2009, 10:08:15 PM »
What are you talking about? ???

monmarfori

  • Universe Sandbox 1 Beta Team
  • *****
  • Posts: 788
Re: Simcity 4
« Reply #46 on: July 20, 2009, 02:30:09 PM »
Big cities may require more RAM. because Simcity 4 may hang

atomic7732

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3817
  • caught in the river turning blue
    • Paladin of Storms
Re: Simcity 4
« Reply #47 on: July 20, 2009, 04:08:02 PM »
Hang? What?

hbmp88

  • *****
  • Posts: 344
  • Please visit to help! http://ucallyptis.myminicity
Re: Simcity 4
« Reply #48 on: July 20, 2009, 06:59:09 PM »
OK, I am not a stupid person, and even I have no clue what you are trying to say. I get the RAM part, but "hang"?

atomic7732

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3817
  • caught in the river turning blue
    • Paladin of Storms
Re: Simcity 4
« Reply #49 on: July 20, 2009, 10:13:32 PM »
OK, I am not a stupid person, and even I have no clue what you are trying to say. I get the RAM part, but "hang"?
Same here.

hbmp88

  • *****
  • Posts: 344
  • Please visit to help! http://ucallyptis.myminicity
Re: Simcity 4
« Reply #50 on: July 20, 2009, 10:41:47 PM »
Is he trying to say it freezes?

atomic7732

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3817
  • caught in the river turning blue
    • Paladin of Storms
Re: Simcity 4
« Reply #51 on: July 20, 2009, 11:05:13 PM »
Or lags?

monmarfori

  • Universe Sandbox 1 Beta Team
  • *****
  • Posts: 788
Re: Simcity 4
« Reply #52 on: July 21, 2009, 01:19:14 AM »
A lag is a cause of slowing down a computer. or a hang?

monmarfori

  • Universe Sandbox 1 Beta Team
  • *****
  • Posts: 788
Re: Simcity 4
« Reply #53 on: July 21, 2009, 01:21:01 AM »
Really a hang is a freezing of a software like Simcity 4 or the computer.

Bla

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 1012
  • The stars died so you can live.
Re: Simcity 4
« Reply #54 on: July 21, 2009, 03:28:18 AM »
By hang he just means it will run slow, freeze or crash I think. And that it often happens because the computer needs more RAM.
But perhaps we should discuss SimCity some more instead. :)

Eeehhh... What are your largest cities called? How many inhabitants do they have? ;D
My record is "Ul Torv" with about 1.3 million inhabitants, but it was in 2005 where I later lost my data... Which has happened twice. But now it's running on my laptop where Noxium is the largest city, with a little more than 70,000 inhabitants. :P

Naru523

  • Universe Sandbox 1 Beta Team
  • *****
  • Posts: 1295
  • let's walk the true path of life
Re: Simcity 4
« Reply #55 on: July 21, 2009, 08:27:54 AM »
Mine was almost 1 billion population in 2007.

Until I also lost data of it :P

hbmp88

  • *****
  • Posts: 344
  • Please visit to help! http://ucallyptis.myminicity
Re: Simcity 4
« Reply #56 on: July 21, 2009, 10:32:38 AM »
You mean the region?

Bla

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 1012
  • The stars died so you can live.
Re: Simcity 4
« Reply #57 on: July 21, 2009, 11:14:59 AM »
Hopefully the region, though I also find that highly unlikely, a billion is 1,000 million in American (1,000,000 million in British).
There aren't even 100 tiles are there? and I only think you can get 1M+ on the largest tiles...

So Naru, are you sure you don't mean a million? :P
« Last Edit: July 21, 2009, 11:52:47 AM by Bla »

Naru523

  • Universe Sandbox 1 Beta Team
  • *****
  • Posts: 1295
  • let's walk the true path of life
Re: Simcity 4
« Reply #58 on: July 21, 2009, 11:46:24 AM »
Yeah. :P Thanks Bla... lol

monmarfori

  • Universe Sandbox 1 Beta Team
  • *****
  • Posts: 788
Re: Simcity 4
« Reply #59 on: July 21, 2009, 02:56:29 PM »
The differences of 2 programs made by Maxis.
SimMars is a program where you can build large cities on Mars. not Earth.
SimCity 4 is a program. you can build cities in Earth. not Mars.