Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Why does this happen?  (Read 2316 times)

Arata

  • Universe Sandbox 1 Beta Team
  • *****
  • Posts: 93
Why does this happen?
« on: October 03, 2009, 06:46:56 AM »
Dan, why is that when I go into settings, and put the particle multiplier all the way up, the program then runs slow?
Are you planning to fix that?

Arata

  • Universe Sandbox 1 Beta Team
  • *****
  • Posts: 93
Re: Why does this happen?
« Reply #1 on: October 03, 2009, 07:25:12 AM »
I'm talking about universe sandbox.

Bla

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 924
  • The stars died so you can live.
Re: Why does this happen?
« Reply #2 on: October 03, 2009, 08:57:05 AM »
Arata, when you increase the number of particles the computer has to calculate where all the particles have to go, so it will always be slower with more particles. It cannot be fixed. :)

bessy

  • Universe Sandbox 1 Beta Team
  • *****
  • Posts: 52
Re: Why does this happen?
« Reply #3 on: October 03, 2009, 10:10:10 AM »
try upgrading your computer that will help when more particles are on screen maybe a better graphics card that can process more particles and a better processor to help with the math for the physics part

or if any 1 knows if the ageia physics cards make any dif with US??

Magnetar

  • Universe Sandbox 1 Beta Team
  • *****
  • Posts: 67
Re: Why does this happen?
« Reply #4 on: October 03, 2009, 12:26:51 PM »
try upgrading your computer that will help when more particles are on screen maybe a better graphics card that can process more particles and a better processor to help with the math for the physics part

I don't think the video card has any problems with displaying sprite based objects.
It's probably rather a problem of the mainboard which has to calculate all the positions and velocities of the particles. Anyways, I think there are already quite a lot of cheap multicores out.

Dan Dixon

  • Creator of Universe Sandbox
  • Developer
  • *****
  • Posts: 2862
    • Personal Site
Re: Why does this happen?
« Reply #5 on: October 03, 2009, 06:40:21 PM »
or if any 1 knows if the ageia physics cards make any dif with US??

Unfortunately Universe Sandbox doesn't run any faster with an ageia physics card.

It's probably rather a problem of the mainboard which has to calculate all the positions and velocities of the particles. Anyways, I think there are already quite a lot of cheap multicores out.

True.

Although Universe Sandbox only supports a single core at the moment. As soon as .NET 4 comes out I'll be releasing a new version that should run at least 40% faster on dual core systems.

Bottom line: A faster computer is more important than a faster video card with Universe Sandbox.

And Arata: Don't forget that you can edit your previous posts instead of adding a new one. :)

bessy

  • Universe Sandbox 1 Beta Team
  • *****
  • Posts: 52
Re: Why does this happen?
« Reply #6 on: October 04, 2009, 03:45:43 AM »
thx for the info dan can i ask if in the .net 4 version will it also support quad core as well or will it only use 2 of the 4??

Dan Dixon

  • Creator of Universe Sandbox
  • Developer
  • *****
  • Posts: 2862
    • Personal Site
Re: Why does this happen?
« Reply #7 on: October 04, 2009, 11:33:12 AM »
will it also support quad core as well or will it only use 2 of the 4??

When the multi-core upgrade is released it will support as many processors as you have available: 4, 8, even 16.

So yes, it will support quad cores.

bessy

  • Universe Sandbox 1 Beta Team
  • *****
  • Posts: 52
Re: Why does this happen?
« Reply #8 on: October 04, 2009, 01:02:03 PM »
nice  ;D

monmarfori

  • Universe Sandbox 1 Beta Team
  • *****
  • Posts: 788
Re: Why does this happen?
« Reply #9 on: October 04, 2009, 02:16:52 PM »
They only support cores of 2,4,6,8 and more. like i will buy Core 2 duo.