Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Help with creating Horizon Files  (Read 13614 times)

Dan Dixon

  • Creator of Universe Sandbox
  • Developer
  • *****
  • Posts: 3243
    • Personal Site
Help with creating Horizon Files
« on: August 28, 2009, 09:22:10 PM »
Original thread with instructions:
http://universesandbox.com/forum/index.php/topic,722.0.html



What are your specific objects?

You may have to go to their website and use their search to find the Horizon ID #.

The Horizon ID # are also in the LocalObject.xml for many objects (but probably not the comets you're wanting).

I'll help you make this work.

So where are you stuck?

« Last Edit: August 29, 2009, 02:22:46 AM by Dan Dixon »

atomic7732

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3760
  • caught in the river turning blue
    • Paladin of Storms
Help with creating Horizon Files
« Reply #1 on: August 28, 2009, 09:33:44 PM »
Object codes.

Do I just put

@Object Name?

Dan Dixon

  • Creator of Universe Sandbox
  • Developer
  • *****
  • Posts: 3243
    • Personal Site
Help with creating Horizon Files
« Reply #2 on: August 28, 2009, 10:02:11 PM »
Try just using the exact email that I provided first.

See if you can get that to work.

After you do it successfully once it should be more clear.

atomic7732

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3760
  • caught in the river turning blue
    • Paladin of Storms
Help with creating Horizon Files
« Reply #3 on: August 28, 2009, 10:09:53 PM »
Ok. Give me a minute, or hour. I'm having fun on Wolfram Alpha!

Dan Dixon

  • Creator of Universe Sandbox
  • Developer
  • *****
  • Posts: 3243
    • Personal Site
Help with creating Horizon Files
« Reply #4 on: August 28, 2009, 10:22:58 PM »
No worries... :)

atomic7732

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3760
  • caught in the river turning blue
    • Paladin of Storms
Help with creating Horizon Files
« Reply #5 on: August 28, 2009, 10:54:39 PM »
Sent it, waiting for the reply. Oh, wow... That's quick!

Edit: Umm... I don't have Outlook, How do I export to txt file?

Dan Dixon

  • Creator of Universe Sandbox
  • Developer
  • *****
  • Posts: 3243
    • Personal Site
Help with creating Horizon Files
« Reply #6 on: August 28, 2009, 11:00:21 PM »
What email do you use?

This might be a little tedious... You might have to copy and paste the full contents of each email into a single data.txt file.

If you use gmail:
Select "Show Original" to get at the raw text ('Show Original' is under the drop down arrow on the far right) and copy this text into a txt file.

These keyboard shortcuts can make this easier:
Ctrl+A - Select All
Ctrl+C - Copy Text
Alt+Tab - Switch to notepad
Ctrl+V - Paste Text
« Last Edit: August 28, 2009, 11:05:40 PM by Dan Dixon »

Dan Dixon

  • Creator of Universe Sandbox
  • Developer
  • *****
  • Posts: 3243
    • Personal Site
Help with creating Horizon Files
« Reply #7 on: August 28, 2009, 11:02:50 PM »
In gmail...

Select "Show Original" (it's under the drop down arrow on the far right) and copy this text into a txt file.

Ctrl+A - Select All
Ctrl+C - Copy Text
Alt+Tab - Switch to notepad
Ctrl+V - Paste Text

atomic7732

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3760
  • caught in the river turning blue
    • Paladin of Storms
Help with creating Horizon Files
« Reply #8 on: August 28, 2009, 11:14:14 PM »
Show Original? Ok... Ummm... A PRT SCR please?\

Edit: Found it

EditEdit: Shift ~ or Shift + ~? I can't get it to say anything. Is this "menu" US?
« Last Edit: August 28, 2009, 11:25:02 PM by NeutronStar »

Dan Dixon

  • Creator of Universe Sandbox
  • Developer
  • *****
  • Posts: 3243
    • Personal Site
Help with creating Horizon Files
« Reply #9 on: August 28, 2009, 11:36:44 PM »
~ is the key above tab and to the left of the !/1 key.

And you must press Shift+~ with the menu open.

atomic7732

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3760
  • caught in the river turning blue
    • Paladin of Storms
Help with creating Horizon Files
« Reply #10 on: August 28, 2009, 11:48:40 PM »
I did that. Nothing seemed to happen.

Dan Dixon

  • Creator of Universe Sandbox
  • Developer
  • *****
  • Posts: 3243
    • Personal Site
Help with creating Horizon Files
« Reply #11 on: August 29, 2009, 12:00:08 AM »
You should see a message on the bottom right side of the screen. It will say "Horizon File not found" or "Horizon file created".

Again make sure the main menu is open - Press ESC to open it. It won't work if the menu is closed.

atomic7732

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3760
  • caught in the river turning blue
    • Paladin of Storms
Help with creating Horizon Files
« Reply #12 on: August 29, 2009, 12:11:50 AM »
Nothing.

Dan Dixon

  • Creator of Universe Sandbox
  • Developer
  • *****
  • Posts: 3243
    • Personal Site
Help with creating Horizon Files
« Reply #13 on: August 29, 2009, 12:25:08 AM »
Well... you should get a message saying something.

Start Universe Sandbox.
Wait for it to load. The menu should be visible.
Press Shift + ~

You should press 2 keys... The shift key and the tilde (~) key.

Working?

Maybe the text isn't displaying...

Check your log files or see if a horizon.xml file now exists.

Do this and then send me your log files.


atomic7732

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3760
  • caught in the river turning blue
    • Paladin of Storms
Help with creating Horizon Files
« Reply #14 on: August 29, 2009, 12:34:52 AM »
I have no clue...
« Last Edit: August 29, 2009, 12:36:26 AM by Dan Dixon »

Dan Dixon

  • Creator of Universe Sandbox
  • Developer
  • *****
  • Posts: 3243
    • Personal Site
Help with creating Horizon Files
« Reply #15 on: August 29, 2009, 12:38:07 AM »
Hmm... Strange.

Are you sure you're pressing Shift+~ ?

atomic7732

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3760
  • caught in the river turning blue
    • Paladin of Storms
Help with creating Horizon Files
« Reply #16 on: August 29, 2009, 12:39:24 AM »
Yes.

Dan Dixon

  • Creator of Universe Sandbox
  • Developer
  • *****
  • Posts: 3243
    • Personal Site
Help with creating Horizon Files
« Reply #17 on: August 29, 2009, 12:40:27 AM »
I'm not sure what to tell you... It's working for me. When I press Shift+~ I get an error message.

And nothing happens?

Does your ~ key work?

Type it here. :)

atomic7732

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3760
  • caught in the river turning blue
    • Paladin of Storms
Help with creating Horizon Files
« Reply #18 on: August 29, 2009, 12:44:06 AM »
~ yep

Dan Dixon

  • Creator of Universe Sandbox
  • Developer
  • *****
  • Posts: 3243
    • Personal Site
Help with creating Horizon Files
« Reply #19 on: August 29, 2009, 01:09:30 AM »
That's really strange.

Do you have another computer you could try it on?

I get a message about Horizon files when I press that key (and shift).

I'm think I'm out for the night. Let me know if you make any more progress

Can someone else try this and report if they see the "Horizon Data file not found" message?

atomic7732

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3760
  • caught in the river turning blue
    • Paladin of Storms
Help with creating Horizon Files
« Reply #20 on: August 29, 2009, 01:12:34 AM »
Nope. I only have one computer.

Naru523

  • Universe Sandbox 1 Beta Team
  • *****
  • Posts: 1295
  • let's walk the true path of life
Re: Help with creating Horizon Files
« Reply #21 on: August 29, 2009, 03:58:21 PM »
I saved Mars and opened it, and it said that.

atomic7732

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3760
  • caught in the river turning blue
    • Paladin of Storms
Re: Help with creating Horizon Files
« Reply #22 on: August 29, 2009, 04:04:07 PM »
I don't get anything. :(

atomic7732

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3760
  • caught in the river turning blue
    • Paladin of Storms
Re: How to create Horizon Files
« Reply #23 on: August 29, 2009, 04:30:49 PM »
AWW!!! COME ON!!!!  >:( >:( >:(

Maybe i can check if it created a file. What would the file be named?

Dan Dixon

  • Creator of Universe Sandbox
  • Developer
  • *****
  • Posts: 3243
    • Personal Site
Re: Help with creating Horizon Files
« Reply #24 on: August 29, 2009, 04:50:08 PM »
If it's successful...
"In the system folder you should find a file named 'Horizon.xml' file."

atomic7732

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3760
  • caught in the river turning blue
    • Paladin of Storms
Re: Help with creating Horizon Files
« Reply #25 on: August 29, 2009, 04:51:22 PM »
Let m see...

Nope  :'( :'(

Dan Dixon

  • Creator of Universe Sandbox
  • Developer
  • *****
  • Posts: 3243
    • Personal Site
Re: Help with creating Horizon Files
« Reply #26 on: August 29, 2009, 04:59:47 PM »
Ok... For some reason Universe Sandbox isn't detecting the key press. That seems to be the entire problem.

It works on two computers that I tested it on (non-development machines) and it worked for Chaotic Cow.

Maybe you're running some program that intercepts the ~ key press?
1 - Try disabling (or quitting) any program that intercepts global key presses.

Try turning on the debug text with Ctrl + ~ (the tilde) key.
2 - Does that work?

Try pressing Alt + ~
3 - This copies camera info to the clipboard. Did that work? It also outputs "camera=dist:..." to the screen.

atomic7732

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3760
  • caught in the river turning blue
    • Paladin of Storms
Re: Help with creating Horizon Files
« Reply #27 on: August 29, 2009, 05:31:23 PM »
None work. Let me close Google Chrome. Maybe Java Applets intercept ~... But, then why can I type it... ?

atomic7732

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3760
  • caught in the river turning blue
    • Paladin of Storms
Re: Help with creating Horizon Files
« Reply #28 on: August 29, 2009, 05:32:07 PM »
Nope. They don't work.

Dan Dixon

  • Creator of Universe Sandbox
  • Developer
  • *****
  • Posts: 3243
    • Personal Site
Re: Help with creating Horizon Files
« Reply #29 on: August 29, 2009, 05:45:56 PM »
Nope. They don't work.

What doesn't work?
Can you turn debug text on?

Close as many programs as you can. Close that hp Adviser program that I saw in your desktop screenshot. Close as many programs as you can that are running in your system tray. Use Task Manager to force close as many programs as possible.

And then just reset your computer to restore all of them.

I really don't think that this problem is with Universe Sandbox. It's likely something else.