Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: UI question  (Read 8744 times)

atomic7732

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3823
  • caught in the river turning blue
    • Paladin of Storms
UI question
« on: August 12, 2009, 06:31:05 PM »
Dan, is there a way that you can mod to add more presets? Just wonder ing. thanks!

Dan Dixon

  • Creator of Universe Sandbox
  • Developer
  • *****
  • Posts: 3243
    • Personal Site
Re: UI question
« Reply #1 on: August 12, 2009, 09:20:15 PM »
Presets in the current version of Universe Sandbox are hard coded. There's no way for a user to add additional presets (that are selectable from the drop down menu)

You could edit the data file with the coresponding preset name to change the preset values for mass, diameter, etc, but there's no way to add more to that list.

Look for a fix in version 2.

atomic7732

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3823
  • caught in the river turning blue
    • Paladin of Storms
Re: UI question
« Reply #2 on: August 12, 2009, 09:23:21 PM »

Dan Dixon

  • Creator of Universe Sandbox
  • Developer
  • *****
  • Posts: 3243
    • Personal Site
Re: UI question
« Reply #3 on: August 12, 2009, 09:31:47 PM »
Fix?

Or rather... Look for this new feature in version 2.

monmarfori

  • Universe Sandbox 1 Beta Team
  • *****
  • Posts: 788
Re: UI question
« Reply #4 on: August 13, 2009, 02:15:39 PM »
In Universe Sandbox 2. some galaxy mergers would be available. The system Galaxy Collision: Andromeda-Milky Way collision changes its position.

hbmp88

  • *****
  • Posts: 344
  • Please visit to help! http://ucallyptis.myminicity
Re: UI question
« Reply #5 on: August 17, 2009, 05:31:31 PM »
Just had a great idea but I'm not sure if it is possible. You can change presets in an in-game screen, because i can't really figure out where to go to change XML files my computer won't allow me to edit them.

atomic7732

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3823
  • caught in the river turning blue
    • Paladin of Storms
Re: UI question
« Reply #6 on: August 17, 2009, 05:35:59 PM »
I think dan is making more of the XML stuff availible like this for the next version.

Dan Dixon

  • Creator of Universe Sandbox
  • Developer
  • *****
  • Posts: 3243
    • Personal Site
Re: UI question
« Reply #7 on: August 17, 2009, 08:25:29 PM »
Just had a great idea but I'm not sure if it is possible. You can change presets in an in-game screen...

Yes... That's the plan.

...i can't really figure out where to go to change XML files my computer won't allow me to edit them.

The XML files that the systems/simulations that you can open from Universe Sandbox. Select New from the main menu for instructions and to open the folder where you should save your files.
(My) Documents\Universe Sandbox\Systems

hbmp88

  • *****
  • Posts: 344
  • Please visit to help! http://ucallyptis.myminicity
Re: UI question
« Reply #8 on: August 18, 2009, 02:40:18 AM »
OK thanks I know how to get past the block but it justs makes it even more difficult to edit, and I'm not very good under the pressures of coding. My file i was trying to add as texture was a .jpg when the others where .dds... Why is that? Was it in the wrong form or am I supposed to change it myself? I don't own anything that would allow me to change it to the right format.  :(

atomic7732

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3823
  • caught in the river turning blue
    • Paladin of Storms
Re: UI question
« Reply #9 on: August 18, 2009, 07:23:08 AM »
If you have vista or xp, you have notepad. just keep it as a text file, but call it .xml . I have XML editor (which is odd) but it doesn't let me edit anything, so I use notepad.

hbmp88

  • *****
  • Posts: 344
  • Please visit to help! http://ucallyptis.myminicity
Re: UI question
« Reply #10 on: August 18, 2009, 12:57:04 PM »
OK the difficulty is gone but I'm still wondering does it have to be .dds because my texture is .jpg. Its a picture that has been formatted to fit a globe. And when I want a texture and there is none I just insert it anywhere under the name or in a specific order? Something like <TextureDiffuse>................<TextureDiffuse/> or with the / somewhere else.

Dan Dixon

  • Creator of Universe Sandbox
  • Developer
  • *****
  • Posts: 3243
    • Personal Site
Re: UI question
« Reply #11 on: August 18, 2009, 01:13:14 PM »
...I'm still wondering does it have to be .dds because my texture is .jpg...

No a .jpg works fine.

What file are you editing? And what is its path (what folder does it live in)?

witold

  • *****
  • Posts: 130
  • Sorry for my bad english (if he is)
Re: UI question
« Reply #12 on: August 18, 2009, 01:14:58 PM »
...I'm still wondering does it have to be .dds because my texture is .jpg...

No a .jpg works fine.

What file are you editing? And what is its path (what folder does it live in)?

But .Jp2 won,t work

hbmp88

  • *****
  • Posts: 344
  • Please visit to help! http://ucallyptis.myminicity
Re: UI question
« Reply #13 on: August 19, 2009, 12:20:41 AM »
I'm editing the appearance file in copy of data for reference and im editting enceladus texture to he one simebody posted in another topic. What will happen if i don't enter it right? This will be my first XML edit.

Dan Dixon

  • Creator of Universe Sandbox
  • Developer
  • *****
  • Posts: 3243
    • Personal Site
Re: UI question
« Reply #14 on: August 19, 2009, 12:53:46 AM »
What will happen if i don't [edit appearance.xml] right?

Universe Sandbox may crash.

Be sure to make a backup copy of this file first. Just copy it into the same folder and call it something like appearance.xml.bak or similar.

Worst case you can simply reinstall Universe Sandbox.

hbmp88

  • *****
  • Posts: 344
  • Please visit to help! http://ucallyptis.myminicity
Re: UI question
« Reply #15 on: August 19, 2009, 12:55:30 AM »
OK yeah I'm not too dumb I think I'll be able to figure it out. :P I have edited Registrations before.

hbmp88

  • *****
  • Posts: 344
  • Please visit to help! http://ucallyptis.myminicity
Re: UI question
« Reply #16 on: August 19, 2009, 01:04:48 AM »
OK yeah I'm not too dumb I think I'll be able to figure it out. :P I have edited Registrations before.

OK I'm officially dumb but not too much. Nothing changed! I made sure I saved it too. Wait let me try one more thing. Maybe its still following the copy of the appearance file.


Code: [Select]
<Object>
<Name>Enceladus</Name>
<TextureDiffuse>enceladus_texture.jpg</TextureDiffuse>
<Notes>saturn-enceladus.dds</Notes>
</Object>

is this right?
« Last Edit: August 19, 2009, 01:10:12 AM by hbmp88 »

witold

  • *****
  • Posts: 130
  • Sorry for my bad english (if he is)
Re: UI question
« Reply #17 on: August 19, 2009, 02:01:27 AM »
I'm editing the appearance file in copy of data for reference and im editting enceladus texture to he one simebody posted in another topic. What will happen if i don't enter it right? This will be my first XML edit.

When i editing texture Enceladus turn into "Brown ball"

atomic7732

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3823
  • caught in the river turning blue
    • Paladin of Storms
Re: UI question
« Reply #18 on: August 19, 2009, 04:10:02 PM »
Code: [Select]
<Object>
<Name>Enceladus</Name>
<TextureDiffuse>enceladus_texture.jpg</TextureDiffuse>
<Notes>saturn-enceladus.dds</Notes>
</Object>

is this right?

Ummm... I learned to do this:

<Appearance> File.jpg </Appearance>

witold

  • *****
  • Posts: 130
  • Sorry for my bad english (if he is)
Re: UI question
« Reply #19 on: August 19, 2009, 04:29:24 PM »



Code: [Select]
<Object>
<Name>Enceladus</Name>
<TextureDiffuse>enceladus_texture.jpg</TextureDiffuse>
<Notes>saturn-enceladus.dds</Notes>
</Object>

is this right?

Try delete <Notes>saturn-enceladus.dds</Notes>(i never trying this anyway)

hbmp88

  • *****
  • Posts: 344
  • Please visit to help! http://ucallyptis.myminicity
Re: UI question
« Reply #20 on: August 19, 2009, 05:19:00 PM »
No i think we need the notes they come on every one.

And Neutron, did your way work?

atomic7732

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3823
  • caught in the river turning blue
    • Paladin of Storms
Re: UI question
« Reply #21 on: August 19, 2009, 05:23:37 PM »
By adding it in the system file, not apperance file.

hbmp88

  • *****
  • Posts: 344
  • Please visit to help! http://ucallyptis.myminicity
Re: UI question
« Reply #22 on: August 19, 2009, 07:05:36 PM »
Oh so I have to do that for every system? :-[ I have an idea! Let's all edit the appearances then share it to replace the old original systems.

atomic7732

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3823
  • caught in the river turning blue
    • Paladin of Storms
Re: UI question
« Reply #23 on: August 19, 2009, 07:25:27 PM »
Good idea...  ;D :)