Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Remote Access  (Read 6145 times)

bw_mutley

Remote Access
« on: August 27, 2019, 08:37:11 PM »
Hi there,
I am a Physics professor and use Universe Sandbox at home. I was wondering if it would be possible to access US2 from a remote machine and pipe:

commands from machine 1 -> remote machine running US2 -> video stream -> back to machine 1.

The idea comes from the fact my home PC is very capable of several simulations which my notebook does not. With such a setup I could show simulations of US2 at my classroom using CPU + GPU from my home or even my campus mainframe machine.

I am starting to see a possible solution for it now, I just came here as a first place. Didn't try other sites, I would be happy if you could at least point me out some other clues for where to read about and know it better.

Thanks for your attention.

Cesare

• Universe Sandbox 2 is my favourite simulator.
    • Cesare Vesdani
Re: Remote Access
« Reply #1 on: August 28, 2019, 03:51:21 PM »
I am not sure.

DeVoiD

« Reply #2 on: January 31, 2020, 07:27:49 AM »
There is not real "pipe" in the way you describe, but you will want to use some kind of Remote Desktop, so you can interact with your home computer from work.

This is NOT an easy task.  A high overview of the process:

You will need to talk to your Internet provider and get a static (preferred method) IP address.  Make a note of that IP address (that's your remote IP address you will need later on).

Install whatever program you want to use for Remote Desktop (on Windows computer, Remote Desktop is already preinstalled).  If using Remote Desktop, enable the program (its disabled by default).

Make a note of the port used by the remote Desktop program.