Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Vsync option?  (Read 4691 times)

ChemicalBR0

  • *****
  • Posts: 82
  • flying is just falling without hitting the ground
Vsync option?
« on: May 06, 2011, 04:22:01 AM »
is there a way to turn vsync on in US?

sometimes if i rotate/pan around too quickly i see some screen tearing artifacts.
it's one of my pet hates

I always use Vsync on all my games and 3d apps. (no point your graphics card throwing 200FPS at your screen if the screen is only 60Hz so only capable of displaying 60FPS) the screen image just tears up as the screen can't display the frames fast enough.

Dan Dixon

  • Creator of Universe Sandbox
  • Developer
  • *****
  • Posts: 3244
    • Personal Site
Re: Vsync option?
« Reply #1 on: May 06, 2011, 09:00:42 AM »
Good question. That's something I haven't thought of...

Not at the moment...

Can you add this to the community idea list?

Not a real solution:
And you can turn on FPS with Alt+F to see how high above you are above 60 FPS. Just add new objects until it runs slower. :)

ChemicalBR0

  • *****
  • Posts: 82
  • flying is just falling without hitting the ground
Re: Vsync option?
« Reply #2 on: May 06, 2011, 08:45:07 PM »
Lol nice try :)
I always have MSI afterburner running which shows me a display of FPS on any Direct3d Opengl software i'm running. that's how i knew Vsync wasn't on.

I also tried to over ride the program settings by forcing vsync on in the Nvidia control panel but no cigar.

it's not really a big issue tho as the tearing only really appears if rotating the camera fast.
but its always best to lock your fps to no more than your screen refresh rate for smoothest movement.

what would be a really good addition tho would be anti aliasing
i've yet to try forcing AA on from the GPU , I'll report my findings

Carnage2K4

  • ***
  • Posts: 21
    • Faith Kicker
Re: Vsync option?
« Reply #3 on: May 08, 2011, 03:22:02 AM »
I can't speak for Nvid, but ATI tray tool Vsync works a charm.

ChemicalBR0

  • *****
  • Posts: 82
  • flying is just falling without hitting the ground
Re: Vsync option?
« Reply #4 on: May 08, 2011, 03:50:47 AM »
its kinda hit and miss if the override control panels work with both nvid and ati.

I've got an older machine with a radeon 3850 and there's  software I can override with catalyst but not with nvids panel and vice versa.



Dan Dixon

  • Creator of Universe Sandbox
  • Developer
  • *****
  • Posts: 3244
    • Personal Site
Re: Vsync option?
« Reply #5 on: May 09, 2011, 02:15:39 PM »
I'll add a V-sync checkbox in the next update. That should only be a 15 minute project.

However the quick addition will slow down the simulation processing speed for simple simulations that would run much faster (like the Earth & Moon), when it's checked.

I'll investigate a capped frame rate option that won't slow down the simulation in the future, but that will take more time.

ChemicalBR0

  • *****
  • Posts: 82
  • flying is just falling without hitting the ground
Re: Vsync option?
« Reply #6 on: May 10, 2011, 04:18:05 AM »
cool thanks Dan