Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: A new users experiences, and a problem with placement.  (Read 15641 times)

Aiyen

A new users experiences, and a problem with placement.
« on: May 03, 2011, 09:03:06 AM »
Hey all.

Just recently became aware of this wonderfull sandbox on steam, and have been playing with it for a few days now.

On the bright side I love how scaleable this sandbox is, it can run on my power gaming rig, and on my little notebook without any problems other then the odd crash when I do something to crazy.
I also love the potential in this sandbox, and as an old astrophysics student I love that the physics seems to work as it should... most of the time.

However! It might just be me, but I find the way you place objects utterly atrocious most of the time. Example.
I want to try to make a grid of moons or stars in a plane, a simple 3x3 to keep it simple.
The first one I can place okay, but after that it just seems totally arbitrary where the next one is placed.. it no longer is placed where the mouse pointer is and the only thing I can control is the altitude over or under the plane! I can of course use the location data to put in manual locations, but this should really not be necessary!

The above is especially ruining when it comes to galaxies, since if I give new locations it just moves the center of mass and leaves all the particles behind!

This general problem seems to be following me whatever I try to make, expect for simple solar systems.

I dont know if it is me missing something, in which case please do tell. But so far it is really ruining my experience with this otherwise wonderfull program!
« Last Edit: May 03, 2011, 10:09:33 AM by Aiyen »

Joshimitsu91

• Hit me up on Steam: "Joshimitsu91"
Re: A new users experiences, and a problem with placement.
« Reply #1 on: May 03, 2011, 09:47:12 AM »