Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Black screen with Steam version but not demo  (Read 6798 times)

Asanath

  • *
  • Posts: 2
Black screen with Steam version but not demo
« on: April 30, 2011, 07:12:15 AM »
I tried your demo and liked it so much that I zipped right over to Steam and bought it there. Unfortunately, the Steam version does not run like your demo did. Here is what I am experiencing.

The first time the program ran, I got a windowed screen with a black interior. Task manager said that the program was running. The screen never changed from black. As the x on this window did not respond, I used task manager to close the program and re-started. This time the program seemed to work, and for a time I was exploring all of the sims...I moved on to the second tier of sims available and clicked on the Wasp sim and the program crashed. I have not been able to get anything but a black screen since. I re-installed and verified the cache files on Steam. Nothing.

I really hope that you can help me with this issue as I love this sim. I am a tech integration specialist at a local school district and I think that this is something that I would like to introduce to my teachers.

Radagash

  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Black screen with Steam version but not demo
« Reply #1 on: April 30, 2011, 09:55:49 AM »
Hi there,

I've got the same problem (black window, nothing happening after my cursor changed to a little sun and back to the hardwarestyle). The taskmanager says the application is running though. I hope to receive help soon because  the simulation looks pretty nice and I want to convince myself of this suggestion  :)

Chaotic Cow

  • Universe Sandbox 1 Beta Team
  • *****
  • Posts: 588
  • President of Bovine Relations
    • Facebook
Re: Black screen with Steam version but not demo
« Reply #2 on: April 30, 2011, 10:37:42 AM »
Sounds like Dan has got a lot of bug fixing to do.

taras

  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Black screen with Steam version but not demo
« Reply #3 on: April 30, 2011, 02:42:05 PM »
I get this too, though it does work properly if I have nothing else running, and don't switch away from the app while it's loading.

If I do anything other than use Universe Sandbox after clicking its icon, it just stays on a black window and I have to kill it with Task Manager.

Asanath

  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Black screen with Steam version but not demo
« Reply #4 on: May 01, 2011, 04:14:51 AM »
Hi there, I was able to fix this issue on my machine by setting the sim to run in "safe" mode. The sim kept on crashing or presenting me with a black screen but in the error box that gives you the option to send an option to send a report and re-start program, on the lower left hand side, there is a drop-down arrow and one of those options is to start the sim in safe mode....I selected that option and the sim now runs without a hiccup. I received a warning that choosing to run the sim in safe mode could reduce or disable some of the graphic features, but so far, no problems...it might work for you until the new build is released... (hope the new build does not effect this fix....)

Dan Dixon

  • Creator of Universe Sandbox
  • Developer
  • *****
  • Posts: 3243
    • Personal Site
Re: Black screen with Steam version but not demo
« Reply #5 on: May 01, 2011, 12:06:34 PM »
Did you choose to send the crash report?

I'd like to associate it with you.

Can you make it crash again and mention you're "Asanath from the forums" in the comment box?

doenervich

  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Black screen with Steam version but not demo
« Reply #6 on: May 04, 2011, 05:29:56 AM »
Did you choose to send the crash report?

I'd like to associate it with you.

Can you make it crash again and mention you're "Asanath from the forums" in the comment box?

As he gets a crash report-window, I do only get a black screen :(

Dan Dixon

  • Creator of Universe Sandbox
  • Developer
  • *****
  • Posts: 3243
    • Personal Site
Re: Black screen with Steam version but not demo
« Reply #7 on: May 04, 2011, 03:50:21 PM »
Even better would be to include the link to this thread so I can find it instantly:
http://universesandbox.com/forum/index.php/topic,3405

As he gets a crash report-window, I do only get a black screen :(

I'm sorry it's not working for you.

Can you find the 3 log files that are here:
(My) Documents\Universe Sandbox\Logs
... and email them back to me with a short description of the problem and a link back to this thread?
dan at universesandbox dot com

That will help identify the problem so I can fix it in an upcoming build.