Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: How to judge the accuracy of a simulation?  (Read 4336 times)

emarksmi

How to judge the accuracy of a simulation?
« on: December 21, 2016, 01:15:56 PM »
First, let's say that I'm having a blast with this program.  So much to experiment with.

Let's start with the fact that I'm an engineer and while I don't do a lot of programming anymore, I used to do some simulation work so I understand issues involved with adjusting time steps, sensitivity to initial conditions, accumulated error, etc.

So, I have a simulation that I started, save when I want to go play with something else, and keep reloading to pick up where it left off.  What I did was start with the default solar system simulation that is running when you open the program, took Jupiter's orbit and stuck it at a 30 degree inclination, and then cut the orbital velocity in half (this resulted in a perihelion just outside Venus' orbit and an aphelion at Jupiter's original orbit).  I then just let it run to see how the system evolved.  It has been fascinating to see what has happened.  After ~2400 years of simulated time (7d/s target time step which runs at about 6.5d/s), the asteroid belt has been completely disrupted, Mars is now on a 70 degree inclined orbit with an perihelion of about .5 AU and an Aphelion of about 4.5 AU, and Earth is on a 30 degree inclined orbit with a perihelion of about .15 AU and an Aphelion of about 2.8 AU (among lots of other changes).  Changes in Saturn's orbit are just starting to become apparent (inclination is SLOWLY increasing and the orbit is just starting to show some elongation).  I've had it running at home since I left for work this morning and can't wait to see what has happened while I've been gone.