Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Few ideas  (Read 2424 times)

irigi

Few ideas
« on: September 01, 2014, 04:17:54 AM »
Dear friends!
  I discovered Universe Sandbox last week and I realized this is a great tool I always wanted . Two days later, I found out there is US2 Alpha available, so I immediately bought it and it seem super-cool! It is (or as I hope soon will be) an ultimate tool for creation of fictional solar systems. I am a physicist and although astronomy or astrobiology are not my field, they are certainly my big hobby. I really appreciate the scientific approach you are taking towards modelling of planetary climates. I am sending a few ideas you might find handy.

Bug I noticed in Alpha 10.0: When I change planetary temperature in degrees of Celsius, the temperature gets severely broken or ends up at -273 C. Kelvins work fine.

CO2 and water into atmosphere:
Apart from the great climate modeling system, that so far seems to work only for Earth (are there plans to extend it to all planets?), I noticed that there are two independent systems. One lets you specify the mass and other parameters of the atmosphere and from this, the greenhouse temperature is calculated. (Is there any reference to how is this done? The predictions seem reasonable, so I am quite curious.) Independently of this, one can specify amount of water and CO2 in the planetary composition. It seems to me that these systems could be quite easily coupled to obtain very realistic climate model:

a) If water is present in the composition part, according to planetary temperature some part gets vaporized. From amount of this vapor, water greenhouse effect can be calculated and this can be added to the overall greenhouse effect.

b) If CO2 is present in the compostion part, according to planetary temperature some part gets vaporized. From amount of this vapor, water greenhouse effect can be calculated and this can be added to the overall greenhouse effect.