Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: How come, my XML's never work... This time I copied and pasted!!!!  (Read 14516 times)

atomic7732

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3848
  • caught in the river turning blue
    • Paladin of Storms
I made one object, and made sure it worked. I then copied it and just changed the values!!!!!!!!!

Code: [Select]
<?xml version="1.0" standalone="yes"?>
<System>
  <Body>
    <Name>Mu Arae</Name>
    <Object>Sun</Object>
    <Appearance>Sun</Appearance>
    <Mass>1.1 suns</Mass>
    <Diameter>1893120</Diameter>
    <PositionX>0</PositionX>
    <PositionY>0</PositionY>
    <PositionZ>0</PositionZ>
    <VelocityX>0</VelocityX>
    <VelocityY>0</VelocityY>
    <VelocityZ>0</VelocityZ>
    <Settings>gravity=1</Settings>
  </Body>
  <Body>
    <Name>Mu Arae c</Name>
    <Object>Jupiter</Object>
    <Mass>.03321 jupiters</Mass>
    <Diameter>.03 jupiters</Diameter>
    <Orbit>body=Mu Arae; a=.09094 AU; e=.172; peri=212.7</Orbit>
    <Settings>timestep=3.00 minute</Settings>
  </Body>
  <Body>
    <Name>Mu Arae d</Name>
    <Object>Jupiter</Object>
    <Mass>.5219 jupiters</Mass>
    <Diameter>.05 jupiters</Diameter>
    <Orbit>body=Mu Arae; a=.921 AU; e=.066; peri=189.6</Orbit>
  </Body>
  <Body>
    <Name>Mu Arae b</Name>
    <Object>Jupiter</Object>
    <Mass>1.676 jupiters</Mass>
    <Diameter>1.6 jupiters</Diameter>
    <Orbit>body=Mu Arae; a=1.497 AU; e=.128; peri=22</Orbit>
  </Body>
  <Body>
    <Name>Mu Arae e</Name>
    <Object>Jupiter</Object>
    <Mass>.1.814 jupiters</Mass>
    <Diameter>1.8 jupiters</Diameter>
    <Orbit>body=Mu Arae; a=5.235 AU; e=.0985; peri=57.6</Orbit>
  </Body>
</System>

Look at the last two objects... I made sure the others worked.

Edit: Mu Arae b works... Hmmm...
« Last Edit: April 10, 2010, 07:58:19 PM by NeutronStar »

atomic7732

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3848
  • caught in the river turning blue
    • Paladin of Storms
Re: How come, my XML's never work... This time I copied and pasted!!!!
« Reply #1 on: April 10, 2010, 08:29:01 PM »
ummm... another...

As you can tell I am making exoplanets...

Code: [Select]
<?xml version="1.0" standalone="yes"?>
<System>
  <Body>
    <Name>47 Ursae Majoris</Name>
    <Object>Sun</Object>
    <Appearance>Sun</Appearance>
    <Mass>1.03 suns</Mass>
    <Diameter>1.24 suns</Diameter>
    <PositionX>0</PositionX>
    <PositionY>0</PositionY>
    <PositionZ>0</PositionZ>
    <VelocityX>0</VelocityX>
    <VelocityY>0</VelocityY>
    <VelocityZ>0</VelocityZ>
    <Settings>gravity=1</Settings>
  </Body>
  <Body>
    <Name>47 UMa b</Name>
    <Object>Jupiter</Object>
    <Mass>2.53 jupiters</Mass>
    <Diameter>2.5 jupiters</Diameter>
    <Orbit>body=47 Ursae Majoris; a=2.1 AU; e=.032; peri=334</Orbit>
    <Settings>timestep=3.00 minute</Settings>
  </Body>
  <Body>
    <Name>47 UMa c</Name>
    <Object>Jupiter</Object>
    <Mass>.54 jupiters</Mass>
    <Diameter>.5 jupiters</Diameter>
    <Orbit>body=47 Ursae Majoris; a=3.6 AU; e=.098; peri=295</Orbit>
  </Body>
  <Body>
    <Name>47 UMa d</Name>
    <Object>Jupiter</Object>
    <Mass>1.64 jupiters</Mass>
    <Diameter>1.6 jupiters</Diameter>
    <Orbit>body=47 Ursae Majoris; a=11.6 AU; e=.16; peri=110</Orbit>
  </Body>
  </Body>
</System>

NVM!!! Found the problem!!! (For this one)
« Last Edit: April 10, 2010, 09:07:37 PM by NeutronStar »

Naru523

  • Universe Sandbox 1 Beta Team
  • *****
  • Posts: 1295
  • let's walk the true path of life
Re: How come, my XML's never work... This time I copied and pasted!!!!
« Reply #2 on: April 14, 2010, 06:02:05 PM »
I made one object, and made sure it worked. I then copied it and just changed the values!!!!!!!!!

Code: [Select]
<?xml version="1.0" standalone="yes"?>
<System>
  <Body>
    <Name>Mu Arae</Name>
    <Object>Sun</Object>
    <Appearance>Sun</Appearance>
    <Mass>1.1 suns</Mass>
    <Diameter>1893120</Diameter>
    <PositionX>0</PositionX>
    <PositionY>0</PositionY>
    <PositionZ>0</PositionZ>
    <VelocityX>0</VelocityX>
    <VelocityY>0</VelocityY>
    <VelocityZ>0</VelocityZ>
    <Settings>gravity=1</Settings>
  </Body>
  <Body>
    <Name>Mu Arae c</Name>
    <Object>Jupiter</Object>
    <Mass>.03321 jupiters</Mass>
    <Diameter>.03 jupiters</Diameter>
    <Orbit>body=Mu Arae; a=.09094 AU; e=.172; peri=212.7</Orbit>
    <Settings>timestep=3.00 minute</Settings>
  </Body>
  <Body>
    <Name>Mu Arae d</Name>
    <Object>Jupiter</Object>
    <Mass>.5219 jupiters</Mass>
    <Diameter>.05 jupiters</Diameter>
    <Orbit>body=Mu Arae; a=.921 AU; e=.066; peri=189.6</Orbit>
  </Body>
  <Body>
    <Name>Mu Arae b</Name>
    <Object>Jupiter</Object>
    <Mass>1.676 jupiters</Mass>
    <Diameter>1.6 jupiters</Diameter>
    <Orbit>body=Mu Arae; a=1.497 AU; e=.128; peri=22</Orbit>
  </Body>
  <Body>
    <Name>Mu Arae e</Name>
    <Object>Jupiter</Object>
    <Mass>.1.814 jupiters</Mass>
    <Diameter>1.8 jupiters</Diameter>
    <Orbit>body=Mu Arae; a=5.235 AU; e=.0985; peri=57.6</Orbit>
  </Body>
</System>

Look at the last two objects... I made sure the others worked.

Edit: Mu Arae b works... Hmmm...


I think you need to put <Appearance>?</Appearance> on the planets.

Dan Dixon

  • Creator of Universe Sandbox
  • Developer
  • *****
  • Posts: 3244
    • Personal Site
Re: How come, my XML's never work... This time I copied and pasted!!!!
« Reply #3 on: April 14, 2010, 06:07:43 PM »
There's a problem with the last Mass line:
    <Mass>.1.814 jupiters</Mass>

You've got two periods in it. :)

@NeutronStar What kind of error were you getting with this problem?
« Last Edit: April 14, 2010, 06:15:30 PM by Dan Dixon »

atomic7732

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3848
  • caught in the river turning blue
    • Paladin of Storms
Re: How come, my XML's never work... This time I copied and pasted!!!!
« Reply #4 on: April 14, 2010, 08:35:41 PM »
it just crashed... btw, thanks!

Dan Dixon

  • Creator of Universe Sandbox
  • Developer
  • *****
  • Posts: 3244
    • Personal Site
Re: How come, my XML's never work... This time I copied and pasted!!!!
« Reply #5 on: April 14, 2010, 10:01:36 PM »
it just crashed... btw, thanks!

I fixed this crash in the upcoming v2 beta 6. It now outputs the error in the log files.

Scienceguy

  • ****
  • Posts: 46
  • goto http://scienceguy10.webs.com/apps/auth/signup
    • science helper
Re: How come, my XML's never work... This time I copied and pasted!!!!
« Reply #6 on: April 21, 2010, 07:13:21 PM »
cool :)