Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Roche Limit/ Explode Bug  (Read 4771 times)

vh

  • formerly mudkipz
  • *****
  • Posts: 1135
  • inside the qualia fab
Roche Limit/ Explode Bug
« on: June 01, 2011, 04:43:38 PM »
Hi, i was trying to "simulate" the roche limit by seperating an object into 13 sections by exploding at 0m/s I set the collision mode to bounce, so that i would have 13 sections that could be pulled apart by Jupiter's gravity. However, when i blow up any object (at 0m/s or not) inside the roche limit, it just immediately freezes. According to the interface, it's still traveling 36 m/s but it is completely still on screen. When i attempt the same with an object outside of Jupiter's gravity, it suddenly flies off. I don't understand, I didn't add or subtract mass. Didn't change speed.

Dan Dixon

  • Creator of Universe Sandbox
  • Developer
  • *****
  • Posts: 3243
    • Personal Site
Re: Roche Limit/ Explode Bug
« Reply #1 on: June 02, 2011, 10:58:07 AM »
I doubt you're doing anything wrong. This is a likely a bug in the way bounce mode is implemented. If you move the moon further away from Jupiter before exploding it, you might have better success.

vh

  • formerly mudkipz
  • *****
  • Posts: 1135
  • inside the qualia fab
Re: Roche Limit/ Explode Bug
« Reply #2 on: June 04, 2011, 08:03:54 AM »
Well i'm trying to simulate the roche limit by turning a moon into a couple of pieces to see if Jupiter will rip it apart. Is there another way?

Darvince

  • *****
  • Posts: 1809
  • absolute dominion of the earth is all that we require
Re: Roche Limit/ Explode Bug
« Reply #3 on: June 04, 2011, 09:55:12 AM »
Roche Limit effects aren't implemented yet.

diamondthree

  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Roche Limit/ Explode Bug
« Reply #4 on: June 04, 2011, 04:46:06 PM »
if I attempt to spawn a object inside, or partially inside, another object with collide mode on I get a crash.  perhaps something similar is occuring here?  maybe a small explosion velocity will help.

Dan Dixon

  • Creator of Universe Sandbox
  • Developer
  • *****
  • Posts: 3243
    • Personal Site
Re: Roche Limit/ Explode Bug
« Reply #5 on: June 09, 2011, 09:49:43 AM »
if I attempt to spawn a object inside, or partially inside, another object with collide mode on I get a crash.

This is my fault. This shouldn't cause a crash.

Darvince

  • *****
  • Posts: 1809
  • absolute dominion of the earth is all that we require
Re: Roche Limit/ Explode Bug
« Reply #6 on: March 20, 2016, 08:06:05 PM »
try turning it off of bounce mode for the simulation first